A day of silhouettes!

I am now in the Ardeche, France helping with the photography for a Rockfax guidebook. The first day I climbed, to help me get a feel for the rock. Its hard steep stuff here and the French sure do like their long routes. The shortest so far has been 35 meters. My 60m rope has been made redundant already.

My main aim for this trip is to come away with a body of work about climbing, camping and guidebook writing. After a disheartening morning because I was not in the right frame of mind for climbing and failing miserably on a 6b+, I turned the day round by concentrating on photography. It’s hard to shoot when we are climbing in the shade all day and the vistas in the background are in bright sunlight. Trying to get a shot of a climber in the shade with the background exposed correctly is proving tricky. But I do have a month to practice.

So I resorted to silhouettes:

 

2 responses

  1. These are great images. I love Silhouettes but it looks a little dangerous.

    April 8, 2011 at 9:57 pm

  2. fantastic silhouettes

    April 8, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Leave a Reply

